Inspirational

So I subscribe to the Runner’s World Magazine “quote of the day” email, and a few really good ones have been adding up. And by “a few”, I mean a lot, so I’ll put my favorites near the top and you can scroll through them as it pleases you.

And, as soon as I run my 18 miles this Sunday, I’ll be 2/3 of the way there! Can you believe it? Only four more reallyreallyreally long distances before I get to taper. (My weekends go: 18, 20, 18, 20, 13, 10, Marathon!!!) Think I can do it? I’m pretty sure I can. Alright. Quotation time.

My favorite:

“If I didn’t run, my writing would be very different from what it is. To be a fiction writer, the most important qualities are imaginative ability, intelligence, and focus. To keep these going at a high level, you can’t neglect your physical strength. Otherwise, you can’t accomplish anything very intricate or demanding.” -Haruki Murakami, (postmodern) novelist and translator

My second favorite:

“I run mostly to see things, to explore places I don’t know. And the places I do know, like around here, then I get a sense of the weather, the shifting light, the seasonal changes; it can be pleasurable even when you hurl yourself into the teeth of nature.” -Edward Koren, artist / New Yorker cartoonist

Some more:

“There are no real risks with running, so I can go as fast as I want and as far as I want. I like the freedom of just going. I don’t have to wait for somebody to show up; instead, it’s ‘I’m outta here.'” -Ed Viesturs, mountaineer

“Do the work. Do the analysis. But feel your run. Feel your race. Feel the joy that is running.” -Kara Goucher

“My shoes are the one thing I know I’ll take on the road besides my guitar. I’ve run in the Alps on tour with Joan Baez, along the canals in Cambridge, England, and put lots of miles behind me all over the States.” -Josh Ritter, musician

“I definitely want to show how beautiful the marathon can be. I am the opponent of all those who find the marathon bad: the psychologists, the physiologists, the doubters. I make the marathon beautiful for myself and for others. That’s why I’m here.” -Uta Pippig, the first woman to win the Boston Marathon three consecutive times

“Your body will argue that there is no justifiable reason to continue. Your only recourse is to call on your spirit, which fortunately functions independently of logic.” -Tim Noakes, author of Love of Running

“Conquering any difficulty always gives one a secret joy, for it means pushing back a boundary line and adding to one’s liberty.” -Henri Frederic Amiel, Swiss philosopher, poet, and critic

“Keeping my eye on today is about all I’m capable of. And today, I think I’ll go for a run.” -John Bingham, contributer, Runner’s World

“We all know that if you run, you are pretty much choosing a life of success because of it.” -Deena Kastor

“Those long runs cleanse my system, physically and mentally.” -Joan Benoit Samuelson

“There’s nothing quite like the feeling you get from knowing you’re in good physical condition. I wake up alert and singing in the morning, ready to go.” -Stan Gerstein, runner

And I’ll end with this one:

“Whatever you may be missing right now – a person, a place, a feeling, maybe you are injured and missing running – whatever it is, have peace and take heart – remember that any goodbye makes room for a hello.” -Kristin Armstrong, author and runner

Off to do some morning yoga, drink a huge bottle of water (RIP Nalgene somewhere in Cinque Terre) and then it’s my day to be a tourist in Florence.

Love,

Jane

P.S. RW has excellent web content as well as being my favorite magazine out there. So if you’re ever looking for running tips, inspiration, training plans, or just anecdotes, check it out.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Inspirational

  1. Dad

    You can do anything you put your mind to. Love from Dad!

  2. Paula

    These quotations are encouraging and positive. I find them useful, and I am not a runner. Love from Mom!

Leave a Reply

