A Cloud Lifted

I was having one of those days yesterday.

Sick of the heat, feeling useless sitting around the house waiting to leave town, down about various other things, and majorly missing this place:

Even looking at those photos to put them in the post makes my heart twinge. :(

But! I turned my depressed mood around last night. My sweet father reminded me that life, like my project, is a marathon, and not to lose track of the forest while staring at the trees. Then today I took action and began working on some projects that will put me in touch with people at school and make me feel more connected.

I’ve never really missed anything as deeply as I miss Davidson this week. But I know it won’t be the same as I know it because all my friends are dispersing to other countries, too, and soon I’ll be deliciously sequestered in Florence, too busy exploring to pine away.

And besides, missing someplace is a sign that you love it, and a sign that you’re alive.

So yesterday’s cloud has lifted and today was the most productive day of my summer. I’m happy. :)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Cloud Lifted

  1. Laugh at Jessie

    Hey Jane…this is my first visit to your wordpress blog. This is a great post and I wish you the best with your training!! Love, Jess

  2. Suuuuummmmmit <3

    – Kelsey,
    From a Starbucks in Moscow (don't look at me like that, only here for the free internet)

Leave a Reply

