Banana Bread and Long Run Stats 8/20

Because it was a short one as far as ‘long’ runs go, I’ll keep this brief, and then get on to the fun stuff.

Distance: (only!) 10 miles. Never thought I’d use that modifier on a ten mile run.

Time: 97ish minutes (?)

Difficulty: 6/10. I had a weird stomach ache the last 4 miles.

Fuel: lovely salad beforehand with Lydia, Meaghan, and Samira; chocolate Zico during (officially my new fave flavor of Zico– it tasted like chocolate milk!) and a Pure Organic Bar after– brownie flavored. Guess I was craving chocolate, cause both those snacks really hit the spot.

That’s really all there is to say about the run. Unfortunately most of the time I was wishing for it to be over. Afterwards I got takeout of the indulgent Hawaiian Roll from my favorite sushi spot downtown, and settled in on the outdoor patio of Aromas with a pot of mint tea to read Saturday. I got a slow start on the book since the whole story takes place on one day and there’s a lot of detail, but the pace is picking up and I’m really into it.

So here’s a treat for you, what I’m going to call…

Disappearing Banana Bread

It’s called disappearing because two loaves went in two days at my house. I’m pretty sure my brother is responsible for one of them, and the rest of us split the other. :) Recipe from the Private Collection Cookbook of the Junior League of Palo Alto.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 6 ripe bananas, mashed (aprox. 3 cups)
  • 4 eggs, well beaten
  • 2 1/2 cups cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • With electric beater, cream together sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add bananas and eggs, beating until well-mixed.
  • Sift together dry ingredients three times. Blend with banana mixture but do not overmix.
  • Pour into two lightly greased loaf pans. Bake for 45 minutes to one hour, until firm in the centers and the edges begin to separate from the pans.
  • Cool on a rack for 10 minutes before removing from pans. These freeze beautifully.

Today my parents took a day-cation at their golf club and Dan worked brunch and dinner, so I was left to fend for myself. I always start off days like this lonely, but then settle in and enjoy doing exactly as I please. Here’s what went down:

  • Took an easy recovery run of 4 miles
  • Headed back down to Aromas to finally reply to Jeff’s email (and search for my sunglasses which I lost yesterday, argh)

  • Tucked in at home this evening with vegan curry couscous salad from Whole Paycheck and a bunch of strawberries. This little guy (above) and I are now hanging on the porch while I blog and read and my bread rises.

It’s been ideal!

Something to talk about: how do you like to pass your alone time, especially if you have a lot of it? I’m looking forward to my time as a single laday after college but somewhat apprehensive about an empty apartment every night (except for the inevitable puppy) and possibly living across the country from my fam.


Have a gorgeous night,

Jane

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Banana Bread and Long Run Stats 8/20

  1. My ideal day on my own includes playing loud music and singing along, reading (fiction, research, the occasional overlap), writing (mostly for FreeWord nowadays), and crafting (crochet and hand-stitch projects are my favorites). If I get lazy, the internet is also an endless source of distraction, of course.

    • Kelsey, you’re so awesome. That sounds like a perfect day; I agree on many of those things and would substitute knitting for crochet, and add “dancing around like a fool” to “playing loud music and singing along” :D

      I miss you!!! xoxo

      • Patricia Wade

        Miss Jane,

        You just get used to it and it is kinda fun. Sometimes on the weekend I go to the Chanel counter and buy myself a new lipstick!!!!!

        I agree with your friends…..you can be very creative! You could have an impromptu cocktail party!!!!! BYOB and BYOF (food)lol.

        XXOO your God Mother and a big, big fan…….keep entertaining me!!!!

Leave a Reply

