LRS 8/13: A Frenzy of Firsts!

Today was an adventure! It was (A) the first time I ran more than 13.1 miles, (B) the first time I tried protein powder, (C) the first time I tried chia seeds, (D) my first Larabar, and (E) the first time I did a long run in a Lululemon bra and tank. And, of course, the first time my brother Dan has ever been 24 because it’s his birthday!

All were great successes! So here goes.

Distance: 14 (!) miles

Time: 135 minutes. I realized the gym was going to close before my time was up so did the last 5 miles at a 9 minute pace. Pretty proud!

Location: Gym though it was a beautiful day. Dad was going. And I put hills on the treadmill almost the whole time.

Entertainment: This beastly playlist, plus a few more songs I added to make it long enough (haha). Seriously though, I need to make a new CD for the car because these jams are BALLER.

Fuel before: Breakfast- a slight variation on Brittany‘s recipe for Protein Overnight Oats. <3 her blog.

Lunch- a lovely, delicious salad featuring garlic & herb goat cheese, and half an avocado. Mmm.

Fuel during: a Ginger Snap Larabar and a Pomberry Zico (coconut water)

Fuel after:

Coconut milk yogurt, 1/3 banana, a handful of granola, and a handful of tart cherries (good for muscle recovery)

AND!

A delicious dinner starring salmon. Because I am a salmon freak. Seriously. I basically order it whenever it’s on the menu.

Appetizer was a Smoked Salmon Latke which I split with my dad (we were out together :) and main course was a Seafood and Vegetable Crepe. Both amazing. We went to Dario’s, the Belgian brasserie where my brother currently works. Since he had to work on his birthday, we went to visit him.

 

Wore:

Lululemon Run:Inspire crops, Lulu Cool Racerback, Lulu 50 Rep Bra, Nike headband, Smartwool socks, Brooks shoes.

So, all the things I tried for the first time today went really well! Here are some thoughts.

(A) The distance. My body held up for me and so did my mind– just as important in distance running. And the best part? The sense of pride I felt when I finished. If you don’t know me well, you don’t know what a perfectionist I am. Often with my papers, exams, and creative writing at school I’m always telling myself, “You could have done better, you should have worked harder, you should have spent longer, etc etc.” I like running because my goal for the day doesn’t have degrees of doing it– I run the distance or I don’t. And when I do, I get to feel 100% satisfied. And proud, especially when it’s new territory, even if that’s only .9 of a mile new.

(B) Protein powder. I swear it worked wonders. In combination with my sugar cleanse, the scoop of protein powder in my morning oatmeal made me feel really strong through my whole run. I took it faster than usual, and with more hills. Unless it was the placebo effect… ;) (If anyone’s wondering I used Whole Foods 365 brand Whey Protein, vanilla flavor. I wanted to try Sun Warrior because I hear great things about it at EBF and Fitnessista, but nowhere in Omaha carries it.)

(C) Chia seeds. Kind of neutral here because they didn’t change much about my oatmeal, maybe made it a little more gelatinous, but the nutrition facts are certainly hard to argue with, especially fiber content. Brittany certainly swears by them, so I’ll play around with them a bit more before making a final evaluation.

(D) Larabar!!! Loved it. The consistency was good, loved the taste (I’m a ginger junkie), it gave me something to look forward to mid-run, and there are only SIX ingredients: dates, almonds, pecans, ginger, cinnamon and cloves. Which means gluten free and vegan. I’m seriously in love. Can’t wait to try the whole cornucopia of flavors, esp. carrot cake, blueberry muffin (in my cupboard), banana bread, and lemon bar.

(E) Lulu bra and tank. Really comfy. No chafes at all, this was a winning combination and as of now, is what I plan to wear to the race! :)

My mom just got home from a trip to Chicago, so I’m out for the night. Peace and enjoy the links!

Love, Jane

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

