Long Run Stats 8/6

Hope you all are having a great weekend!

Twelve miles today marks the end of known territory… Next Saturday I’ll do fourteen and it’ll be the longest I’ve ever run. That’s a cool thing about training for my first marathon, being able to say every few long runs, “This is the farthest I’ve ever gone!” Unless I start doing ultras or something (unlikely), this will never happen again. But just as there are always fresh starts and new discoveries in yoga, I know no two marathons throughout my life will be alike.

Distance: 12 mi

Difficulty: 4/10

Time: 119:30 minutes

Entertainment: blasted through a whole Shape Magazine between miles 3 and 9. Music the rest of the time

Soreness: knees for the last 5 miles

Warmup: 1 hour of yoga in the morning

Cool down: stretching and walking

Recovery: 60 minutes of yoga tomorrow afternoon with my mama and probably a 3 mi jog

Randomness: I strolled around this flea market near the gym with Tom before running, and this really good-looking baklava was calling to us… so we ate some. I’m pretty convinced that’s the reason I felt really strong during this run. Plus, I’m training for a marathon in Greece. Any baklava has to be a good omen.

Post-run snack: open-face organic ham / red bell pepper / cheese sandwich on Seeduction bread from Whole Paycheck; handful of Blue Diamond chocolate roasted almonds. And a glass o’ grapefruit juice. And an oatmeal cookie. And half of another. And a spoonful of peanut butter…… yeah. Did I mention that all counted as lunch, too? Nom.

So now I’m doin’ the chill thang, lying on my bed with a pile of clean laundry that needs to be folded, ignoring the stairs that need to be vacuumed, playing on the internet.

Here are a few highlights:

  1. Symphony in hot air balloons? Schweet.
  2. Sea salt spray I want for my hair
  3. Beautiful post about yoga and why it’s okay to suck at it. Must read!
  4. The watch I’m currently lusting after
  5. We shall see but… I might be able to do teacher training in Florence! This will solve all my scheduling problems.
  6. This blog is one beautiful image after another. Lurrrve.

New schtuff: links to my blogifying friends’ pages on the right sidebar. Under Friends. You should read them, they’re awesome.

Aight, off to do something with my evening. Anyone got fun plans tonight? A picnic perhaps, a wine tasting, a classic movie? I want to finish my book so I might go out for some quick eats with my parents and then curl up for the rest of the night. I’m loving A Room With a View and want to savor the last few chapters.

<3 Jane

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

