Mala Necklace

I finally got my Mala on Wednesday night after the chakra flow class! I got it at Lotus but the necklace is from Tiny Devotions.

The stone is an African Jade; here is the description:

“This Jade and black onyx mala is associated with strength and good luck. As the dream stone, jade is said to provide insightful dreams. Jade is known to attract good luck and friendship and protects its wearer from harm. Feel free to use this mala as your body guard and your good luck charm.”

I’m definitely going to need both strength and luck to get through the end of summer. My friends are trickling out of town: Nate is already gone and moves to Albuquerque on Monday; I spent a few hours with Joe Wednesday night and he left yesterday morning for Chicago and then back to school; Tom leaves tomorrow for family vacation and then school as well.

I haven’t mentioned it on the blog yet, but Paul and I broke up a few weeks ago. I began to think really hard about my semester in Florence and what I wanted to get out of it, and decided that complete independence was crucial to the personal growth I hope to achieve. I still really care about him and hope to remain in touch all semester, but I’ve honestly been in relationships (or some kind of less-defined romantic things) more or less since the start of college and I really felt that I needed a break. I’m young and I need to figure out who I am and where I’m going. I hope it was the right decision and that I’m not giving up something that I’ll never get back.

I remember the loneliness I felt for a few weeks during the beginning of summer even when Paul and I were in constant communication, and I’m worried that a deeper emptiness will set in again once work ends (next Thursday) and I’m on my own, just packing and getting ready to go for the next few weeks.

I’ve been so blessed that two of my closest friends from high school who I adore, Tom and Joe, came into town for brief periods of time and that I was able to spend a lot of time with them. And I’ve been so blessed to meet Nate at my teaching job and have two weeks with him. He’s someone I hope to stay close with for my whole life.

But after this weekend, it’s me, my beautiful family, my pack list, lots of reading, lots of miles, and lots of sun salutations. Not so bad, right? When I feel lonely, I’ll just hold onto my Mala for strength and remind myself that my life is pretty darn good.

Wearing: Lululemon Bliss Tank in Heathered coal wee stripe / White.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

