Highlights of the Week

Hi friends! How has your week been?

Even though I only worked four days, mine was a loooong one. There were a couple of all-day camps that wore me out and Monday and Tuesday were over 100. But just when I was wondering if I could make it, a whole stack of these came in the mail:

The CUTEST thank-yous from several elementary schools that I gave tours of the garden. Awww.

In the spirit of making my short-but-nice evenings a leettle bit longer, I did two of my three runs this week in the morning before work. Getting out of bed is always the hardest part of the whole workout, because seeing the sun rise and having completed 5 miles by 7 a.m. is always worth it. I grabbed coffee at the illustrious Caffeine Dreams on my way to work, and because I like mint-flavored lattes (weird, I know), I decided it would be a good idea to get a mint flavor shot into regular coffee….

With a touch of soy milk, it turned into a different kind of green machine. ;) But it was a delicious one.

Tom and I went to the weekly free jazz festival, Jazz on the Green, and took a FEAST along.

Grapes, chips, salsa, baguette, gouda, carrots, hummus, and Pellegrino. And even after all that, we grabbed cupcakes at Jones Bros. because it was carrot cake day. Hurray for being runners!

It rained a little (okay, we were dripping for a while) but Omahans like free stuff so much that barely anyone left even when it became uncomfortable. But staying was def the right decision because it cleared into a beautiful summer night.

But the thing I’m MOST excited to share with you is…..

My grandma’s oatmeal cookie recipe. These things are legendary; my roommate once rescued a 4-5 day old bag of them that I was throwing out for fear of them going to waste. ;) My grandma did many amazing things (quilting, sewing, painting, raising 4 kids without a nanny…) but these cookies are her legacy that’s going to live on for a looong time. So without further ado, the best oatmeal cookies you will ever taste.

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2  1/2 – 3 cups oatmeal
  • optional: maraschino cherries, halved

Preheat the oven to 375. Cream shortening and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla. Combine and add dry ingredients. Add oatmeal until JUST combined. You do not want to overmix these or they won’t be soft. Top with 1/2 maraschino cherry if desired. Bake 8-10 minutes (set your timer for early and take them out when the centers are still a little doughy.) Let cool on a rack.

Enjoy these and tell me if you bake them!

Love, Jane

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Highlights of the Week

  1. Paula

    I can’t begin to count how many of these I have eaten. Thank you for a sweet tribute to Grandma!

Leave a Reply

